189/365 – Late

The girl had her first ever piano concert today (and not at school, either).

I had a school trip to the seaside.

She was due to play at roughly 6.15.

I was due back at school at 4.30.

That gave me 1hr 45mins to do a journey that should have taken 40 minutes, tops.

I think you can probably see where this is going.

I was back at my school just over an hour late.

Ensuring the right parents took the right children, dropping the hi-vis jackets & first aid kit at the office and putting away the cones that we’d used to section off our bit of beach took about half an hour.

Add in some road works, and there wasn’t a cat in heel’s chance (that wasn’t what I going to say but I rather like the imagery of the autocorrect) that I was going to make it on time.

The girl and I both had a little cry about it, but it’s not the end of the world.

Big thanks went to the husb and the boy for taking her, supporting her, and bringing me back the video evidence that she was amazing.

In the meantime, I was de-sanding.

There was sand in many unexpected places. The only one I felt comfortable photographing was this one.

image

Leave a Reply

