Run, Run, Run

I’m not a stranger to a challenge.

In the past I’ve completed two moonwalks (one pregnant, one post children). At 26.2 miles, they were a little bit scary, but it was all about the distance.

Today I did my first running race and I was absolutely terrified. 

I ran 10k around Crystal Palace Park (for Age UK).  When I say “ran” I actually mean ran/walked.

Suddenly it was about not just distance, but also keeping up a good tempo whilst simultaneously tackling some really quite impressive hills.

I was really surprised to finish feeling relatively ok and in a reasonable time (1hr 9mins).

Also, finishing a run in a national athletics stadium (with people cheering) was pretty awesome!

I got a medal – exciting!

image

But even better, when I got home there was a beautiful hand made card from my girl. I’m touched that she has such faith in my running.

image

Leave a Reply

