Away

The boy and I had to go into town today to buy a rucksack.  It’s a multi-purpose one.  It will serve the girl for her Brownie sleepover in a few weeks.  It’ll also do for me to run home from work every now and then.  I accidentally bought one with a (big) pocket to put a drinking bladder in so I’ll be able to take it on long, marathon training runs in the summer.

But most importantly, it will do the boy for his first ever Beaver sleepover (he’s calling it camping although they won’t be in tents) TONIGHT.  I’m doing lots of deep breathing and telling myself it will be fine.  There shouldn’t be actual nuts there, but there will be plenty of food with “may contain traces” as the beavers (from several different packs) are able to take their own snacks and cakes.  I’m trying to learn to trust other people; and don’t get me wrong, his Beaver leader is amazing and I totally trust her, but there are other adults there as well, making food decisions*; so tonight is a little testing.

At the station on the way home from rucksack purchasing, there were people collecting for Motor Neurone Disease.  The gentleman we donated to gave the boy a balloon which matched his apparently very favourite new top rather well.

image

In order to console ourselves after dropping the boy off, the husb, the girl and I went to a cheesecake shop.  You can see that it’s totally not working for the girl!

image

*one of those decisions being to buy bakery bread (completely not safe), even after I’d discussed bread and other things with the lady that was buying the food.  There was other bread there (which I think they were planning to use for something else) so I’ve made sure that he can have that instead of the bakery bread.  (practices deep breathing some more…)

Leave a Reply

