Lost

Technically not “lost” I suppose. I just didn’t know exactly and precisely where they were and who they were with.

Until now, the littles have been either: with me, with the husb, at school, or with an adult of our choice (nursery, babysitters, friends, relatives, for example).

We are in the extremely fortunate position of having a holiday home we can go to on a regular basis. The chalet (or toblerone, as it’s also known due to its triangular shape) is in a holiday park on the Kent coast. There’s only one exit from the park and it’s a very family orientated place. Safe, I suppose is the word I’m looking for.

The last couple of times that we’ve been here, the littles have been asking to go off on their own.  There’s a den they’ve found in amongst some trees, a swing park, and a whole lot of space that would be very exciting to explore on your own if you were 7 or 9.

I don’t know what made it ok this time, but I finally relaxed my grip a little and let them go. 

They went off for just 10 minutes the first time, a couple of days ago, and it was really hard for me.  They’ve been off on their own for lots of 10 minutes in the last couple of days. I’m not sure I’m finding it easier, but this evening I sent them off with a half an hour limit.

Nothing terrible happened. 

That’s not really headline news, but I’m starting to feel a bit more comfortable with my littles heading out into the world on their own.

That is headline news.

As a picture of the littles not here wouldn’t be too exciting, here’s one of them rock pooling instead. I’m not ready to let go of them near water just yet…

image

p.s. yes, it is incredibly beautiful where we are.

Leave a Reply

