You Can’t Keep a Good Volunteer Down

I’ve always, since having children, been an active volunteer.  At various times I’ve helped with the NCT, Rainbows, at our Church, the PTA, and a VBAC/Homebirth Group.  I’m currently running the parent help rota for the Beaver Lodge that the Boy goes to and have been helping every week because they’ve needed  extra help.

I believe that, if you can do it, volunteering is an amazing thing to do.  Not only have I been an active part of my local community and had the chance to help other people, I have had fabulous experiences, met some lovely people, learnt new skills and grown in many ways, none of which would have happened if I hadn’t volunteered.

I had to take more than a few steps back from most of it when I became poorly with gall stones, and continued to be poorly for 3 years until I had my gall bladder removed.  Recently it has become more and more apparent that as much as I’d like to think I’m right back to where I was both physically and mentally 4 years ago, I’m really not.

So, it’s great that I’m being really sensible and not pushing myself too much physically, mentally, or taking on any new roles.

This is the form with the training requirements that I need to achieve to help out regularly at Cubs

image

Leave a Reply

